An extremely belated Apology

Recently I just finished an anime, dubbed by Funimation studios, called “Yuri on Ice”. It’s about a man, Yuri Katsuki, who loses sight of his dream to be a gold medalist figure skater and it follows him on his journey through competition. If you haven’t seen it I highly recommend it because the soundtrack is beautiful, the story is great, it’s funny, original and highly realistic. Even if you don’t like anime I suggest it because – I think so anyways – it uses a rather unique style for the animation. If that still doesn’t interest you then I encourage you to listen to the soundtrack because it is top notch. (I’m actually listening to it right now 😜.)

Another very dorky thing I’m doing right now is playing an otome game (“an otome game, 乙女ゲーム otome gēmu ?, literally “maiden game”, is a story based video game that is targeted towards the female [population]. Generally one of the goals, besides the main plot goal, is to develop a romantic relationship between the female player character and one of several male or occasionally female characters. – Wikipedia) called Mystic Messenger. It is such a life destroyer because you can’t seem to pull yourself away from the story or the characters who are all so diverse and amazing.

We apparently really suck at selfies too, Em…

The reason I bring these up is because one of my best friends, Emily Turner (the dork on the left), strongly suggested (meaning she fangirled and screamed until my ears were bleeding) that I watch YoI. I love anime. I always have. My very first animes were the Inuyasha and Naruto episodes that would air Saturday mornings on Disney XD. I think that’s what geared me towards my love for animation. However, nowadays I have no time to watch anime unless I stay up until 4 a.m. I can never watch anything in intervals, I binge watch everything, which means I was up until 3 a.m. watching YoI 😅. It was great, though. I definitely don’t regret it because Emily stayed up and finished it too and then we got to talk about it, cry about how it was over, and then fangirl over the next season that’s supposedly coming out in October.

Mystic Messenger was more of my fault. I found the game through another friend who was majorly into Korean everything (yes the game is Korean based and I give it an infinity of thumb ups because it is far better than any Japanese game I’ve ever played) and passed on my love of it to Emily. Her life is now also ruined. You’re welcome, Em! 😊

It’s great that we have so many things in common, otherwise I don’t know if we could end up rooming together in college.

Emily and I met in seventh grade. The first person I became real friends with though was Sarah, so I guess you could say we had the deeper bond in the beginning of our Golden Trio days. I didn’t get to see her a lot, our friendship in middle school was very mediocre, but I got to see her more in high school since all three of us joined the Early College program (I don’t know their reasons, but I basically joined so I could be with them more often). It wasn’t until this year though that Emily and I really connected as friends.

I don’t know what changed: perhaps it’s because we both decided we’d go to the same school, or it could be that we have so many classes together this year. Whatever it was, I’m grateful for it. Emily is one of the smartest, funniest, quirkiest, most beautiful people I know. I tell Sarah that I love her all the time, I always sing her praise because I’ve been with her so long that I know how much she deserves it. Emily and I have been friends just as long, but we’ve finally connected the way friends should only a short while ago. I realize now how much I used to favor Sarah over Emily just because I didn’t have the courage to know her well enough.

Now I do, though, and I realize just how amazing she is. I don’t sing your praises enough, Em. I never have. So this is a post to say just how sorry I am for being such an awful friend, for not having the courage to see the person in front of me and recognize just how amazing you really are. You have such a kind heart, you’ve always been supporting me when I didn’t know what to do or where to go. You make me laugh at the things you say while also broadening my mind because you are so smart. You always look so amazing that I don’t want to take pictures with you because I’m afraid you’ll just end up making me look ridiculous compared to your beauty.

Being friends with you has really gotten me through this year and last. You brought me back to God, you showed me that I wasn’t alone, you pulled me out of one of my darkest abysses. I love you so much, more than you can fathom, and I want us to continue being friends for as long as physically possible and then I want to be able to see you in God’s kingdom and always be by your side because you make my life worth living. I can’t wait for our friendship to grow even more.

One thought on “An extremely belated Apology

Leave a Reply

